Editors of *The Church of Ireland Gazette* Since 1856

(formerly The Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette to 1900)

For its first nine years, the *Gazette* was published and printed by Mr James Charles in Dublin, but there was no editor as such. From 1871 the succession of editors was as follows:

- **1871-1893 Revd James Anderson Carr,** vicar of Whitechurch (Dublin) 1871-1900 and later canon of Christ Church cathedral (Dublin) from 1895;
- **1893-1897 Canon Courtenay Moore,** rector of Brigown (Cloyne) 1882-1897, and canon of Cloyne cathedral from 1882;
- **1897-1905 Canon Charles Irvine Graham,** rector of Celbridge 1891-1911, and canon of Church Church cathedral Dublin from 1901;
- **c. 1906-1918 Warre B. Wells,** was later editor of the *Irish Statesman* (a weekly journal promoting the views of the Irish Dominion League) and published biography of John Redmond, and History of the Irish Rebellion, 1916.
- **1919-24 Revd George Ashton Chamberlain,** rector Clondalkin and select preacher in Trinity College (Dublin) 1917-24 and canon of Christ Church cathedral Dublin from 1932;
- **1924-30 Canon Hugh W. B. Thompson,** rector of St Catherine's (Dublin) and canon of Christ Church cathedral 1924-30. Died suddenly in 1930, leaving editorship vacant or shared for four years;
- 1930-34 temporary editors unknown;
- **1934-54 Canon Ernest William Greening**, rector of Carysfort (Dublin) 1933-43 and canon of Christ Church cathedral Dublin 1951-57;
- 1955-59 Norman Clark [lay man?]
- **1959-75 Canon Frederick Andrew Graves (Andy) Willis,** rector of Dunleckney, also canon of Leighlin cathedral from 1957, of St Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin from 1959, and subsequently archdeacon of Ossory. Shared editorship briefly 1963-66 (see below);
- **1963-66 Revd William Gilbert Wilson,** rector of Armoy (Connor 1947-76), later canon of Connor and subsequently bishop of Kilmore, Elphin and Ardagh (1981-93), co-edited for a brief period with Canon Willis;
- **1975-1982 Revd Robert Samuel James Houston McKelvey,** curate in charge and later rector of Kilmakee (Connor) 1970-81, and subsequently dean of Belfast;

- **1982-2001 Canon Cecil William Marcus Cooper,** rector of Drumbeg (Down), 1982-2000, canon of Down cathedral 1986-90, precentor 1990-91 and chancellor 1991-2000;
- 2001-2017 Canon Ian Morton Ellis, rector of Newcastle (Dromore) 1993 to date, canon of St Patrick's cathedral Dublin, 2001 to date;
- **2017-2019 Revd Earl Storey,** Diocesan Communications Officer (Meath and Kildare), 2017 to date;
- 2019- Ms Karen Bushby, Diocesan Communications Officer (Connor), 2006 to date.